Shatila

Last summer, I wrote a series of posts exploring, in more ways than one, “the landscape of return” during my trip home to Palestine.

This summer, I’m not quite sure what I’ll be exploring yet. I will let you all know when I get there. But, I know I will be doing it in the Shatila refugee camp in Beirut. I am feeling a lot of things before this flight tomorrow, but mostly, I am feeling honored to have a chance  to work in a part of the Palestinian community for which I have the highest respect possible. I already have a hunch that memories of and days in Rafah with my mother will overwhelm my first days.

Stay tuned for updates and adventures, including but not limited to what will be an unndoubtedly ridiculous story-filled crash course in me learning how to teach children English and a photography extracurricular with my girl Anny. And yes, the political commentary infused with emotion you have all come to expect.

All posts from this summer, will be listed under this post, “Shatila,” on the menu to the right.

Leave a Reply

